Tampilkan postingan dengan label reviews. Tampilkan semua postingan
Tampilkan postingan dengan label reviews. Tampilkan semua postingan
Minggu, 02 September 2012

Battle vs Chess Review

Battle vs Chess takes all of the classic chess game and puts a twist on them. As strange as it may seam, this is a chess game with a story - the battle between heaven and hell. 



And because of that, everything is very stylized. All of the chess peaces look divine, or infernal, depending on your fraction. 

Same goes for the backgrounds. The heaven once are very beautiful with trees, rivers and magnificent buildings. And the hell once have lave, spices and ruins.

Of course, if you don't like that style, you can use normal chess peaces and board.



Battle vs Chess is also has a lot of content. If you are new to the game, there is a fully voice-acted tutorial, that explains the rules of chess fairly good. There are also challenges, that can help you become an even better player.

The game also has two campaigns, one for heaven, and one for hell. Bout of them are eventually more challenges, with some story.
And of course, there is a skirmish mod, that is just a normal, straight up chess game. 



This game also has several multiplayer options - online, LAN and local (on the same PC). I just have to warn you that Battle vs Chess is a Games For Windows Live game, so the online play is threw GFWL.

Another problem with the port, is the fact that you can't rebind keys. I know that not a big deal, because the keyboard is for camera control, and you can do that with the mouse. But still it would be nice to see that.




To top it all off, Battle vs Chess is a very stylized chess game, with a lot of content. If you like chess, you will love this game.


I hope you liked my review of Battle vs Chess  .
If you did, comment, share with your friends, like me of facebook, or follow me on twitter.
My name is Nik and i hope you are having a nice day.
Jumat, 24 Agustus 2012

Neighbors From Hell 2 On Vacation Review

Hi, my name is Nik and today i am reviewing:


Neighbors From Hell 2 is a comedy, strategy game, that takes the good parts from its predecessor, and improves upon them.

In this enhance simulator, you play Woody - the host of a TV show called "Neighbors From Hell ". His job is to ruin his neighbor's vacation, in the funniest way possible, without being caught.

The game takes place on a cruise, that goes threw multiple tourist destinations. This gives you, a lot of environments, to prank Mr. Rottweiler - the neighbor.

As far as gameplay goes, the game has some good ideas, that are executed really well. On every level, the neighbor has a some tourist routine, that almost never changes. And its your job to find a way to screw with his route.

To make that possible, every map has different objects, that can be used.
For example, on one for the levels the neighbor swings on a rope. So you must find a sharp knife, and cut the rope a bit. Next time Mr. Rottweiler swings on it, the rope will tear and he will fall. 


One of the most important things about Neighbors From Hell, is to do the tricks fast. That is required,  because every time the neighbor falls in to your traps, his rage increases. And the rage decreases, if he has time to  calm  down. If you want the best score, you need to fill up the rage meter. 

Some of the tricks have multiple steps, and you really have to think outside of the box, to make them. But the harder tricks, are by far the funniest.


Now i have to warn you, i had some problems running it on Windows 7, but it was ok after i patched it. Also i have no idea, how it runs on widescreen monitors, because i don't have one. 

To top it all of, Neighbors From Hell 2 On Vacation is a intereesting game, with a lot of replay value and some very funny moments.

I hope you liked my review of Neighbors From Hell 2 On Vacation .
If you did, comment, share with your friends, like me of facebook, or follow me on twitter.
My name is Nik and i hope you are having a nice day.
Selasa, 21 Agustus 2012

Sleeping Dogs Review

Hi, my name is Nik and today i am reviewing:


Sleeping Dogs is an open world action adventure game, similar to GTA and Saints Row.

You play as Wei Shen, a detective who is undercover in the Sun On Yee gang, a branch of the Triads. For those that don't know, the Triads are a criminal organization, based in Hong Kong and of course the game also takes place in there. So your job is to get inside the gang, find the identity of the bosses and take them out. 

The game puts a lot of focus, on grate story telling and excellent voice action, on the main missions.

But you will not be left out, if you want to have some fun, outside the main story line. The game provides a lot of things to do like singing karaoke, cock (rooster) fighting, street racing and much, much more.

Now lets talk gameplay. Guns are kind of a rarity in Hong Kong, so you will be fist fighting most of the time. Sleeping Dogs tries to copy the melee mechanics from Batman: Arkham Asylum  and it does so quite successfully. The light and heavy combos, chain really well with your counter attacks. The combat is not quite as fluid as Batman's, but its still pretty good. 



But the game also introduces environmental kills. What that means is, that you can grab an opponent and use things like fans, spikes, or doors to kill him. That adds a bit more depth to the fighting and it ultimately makes it more enjoyable.

Now the shooting, is the standard third-person cover bases formula, but with a twist. If you slide over your cover, time slows downs. Its not a very big change, but it makes the game more fun, than other third-person shooters.


Now a little grudge i have with the game, is that there is no good way to fast travel. Yes, there are taxis, but they can take you to a very limited list of places. And if you are not very careful, you will steal the taxi, in stead of going in it. 

Fortunately, the driving is so enjoyable, that you will not need a taxi. All of the cars, even the crappie once, accelerate very rapidly and that gives you a real sense of speed. It almost fells like a Need For Speed game.


Now the PC port is kind of a mixed bag. The HD texture pack obviously shows that they made improvements, compared to the console version. But some of the menus can't be used with the mouse, for whatever reason. Still the problem is only in the menus and in the open world part.


To top it all of, Sleeping Dogs is a good game all around. Excellent story, enjoyable fighting and amazing driving, make it the first open world game, of this type, that i have liked in a long time.


I hope you liked my review of Sleeping Dogs.
If you did, comment, share with your friends, like me of facebook, or follow me on twitter.
My name is Nik and i hope you are having a nice day.
Senin, 20 Agustus 2012

DarkStar One Review

Hi, my name is Nik and today i am reviewing:


DarkStar One is a space combat simulator, that stands as an monument of terrible space games. 

The story, of this disaster, starts with Kayron Jarvis, the main character, getting the DarkStar One from Robert, a friend of his father. The DarkStar One is an advance ship build by Kayron's father. This ship has the ability to "grow", if it absorbs an alien artifact. 

After Robert gives the ship to Kayron, he tells him that his father's death was not an accident, but a murder. And so you must go and find the people responsible. 


Along the way you meet with Eona, a beautiful young woman. She is a perfect example of a  boring character being in a game, just because she looks good.

I could have forgiven the game for the bad story, if the gameplay was good. Is it? No! All of the guns feel equally bad and they all have the same sound effects - like a BB gun.  

And that is a repeating theme in the game. Everything feels the same.


All of the systems, are just a station and some asteroids, or derby flaying around it. All of the enemies have ten lines, or so, that they repeat constantly. And the best part is, that in this vast galaxy there are five, or six ship types and you are all ways stuck with the DarkStar. So if you are looking for variety, you will not find it this game.


Not to say, that the game doesn't have its moments, but they are very few and far between. Still i have to give them credit for the mission, where you attacking a base on some planet. That required some skill, because the corridors were tight and filed with turrets. 

I almost forgot, the PC port is also bad. The controls are good, but the graphics are not optimized at all. 


To top it all of, DarkStar One is a terrible game, with bad story, god awful gameplay and forgettable characters.

I hope you liked my review of DarkStar One.
If you did, comment, share with your friends, like me of facebook, or follow me on twitter.
My name is Nik and i hope you are having a nice day.
Sabtu, 18 Agustus 2012

Mouse and Keyboard Review

Hi, my name is Nik and today i am reviewing my mouse and keyboard.

The Trust Red Bull Racing Full-Size Mouse. 



Apart from the silly name, the mouse is great. Its very ergonomic, so it will never strain your hand. The two side buttons are very light, easy to press and are supported by most games.

The scroll wheel is bigger the usual and its impossible to slip, because of the rubber lining. Also the 1800 dpi rating is good enough for anything you decide to do.

Now the bad sides. The drivers are absolutely useless, so i don't even install them. They change the side buttons from Mouse 4 and Mouse 5, to the left and right arrow keys. And some games, like WOW, don't support the arrow keys for anything other then moving. 

Also after about 2 years, the glue on the left rubber lining, stated to give away and i will have to re-glue it. Maybe its from the heat, i am not really sure. 

To top it all of, this mouse is all it needs to be robust, reliable and comfortable.

A4 X7 G800


This sturdy, waterproof beast is probably the best thing in its price range.

This keyboard has 15 additional keys, but some of them are useless, like G13-G15. They are above "home" and "insert"  keys, so you will never use them. But you will use the once below and around the space bar, because they are in the perfect place.

Another good feature is the rubber on  WASD and the arrow keys. This makes them less slippery then a normal key. And if you dont like them, they keyboard also comes with plastic once, so you can replace them.

They keyboard has one problem, from what i saw for the two years i have it. 

In the top left there are two keys,S and D, that adjust the speed and function of they keyboard. But every time you turn your PC off, the G800 forgets its settings. So every time i turn my PC on, i have to re adjust it. Its not difficult, but its can get very annoying.

Some may say that the smaller space bar is a problem, but i don't think so. Why it may be kind of uncomfortable at first, you will quickly get used to it and it will not bother you.

To top it all of, the A4 X7 G800 is an amazing keyboard, with an amazing price. So i highly recommend it to anyone who wants cheaper PC gaming.  

I hope you liked my reviews of the A4 X7 G800 and the Trust Red Bull Racing Full-Size Mouse.
If you did, comment, share with your friends, like me of facebook, or follow me on twitter.
My name is Nik and i hope you are having a nice day.
Jumat, 17 Agustus 2012

Iron Brigade (Trenched) Review

Hi, my name is Nik and today i am reviewing:


Iron Brigade is a mix between third person shooter and a tower defense game. You may know the game as Trenched, but the name was changed, due to legal issues.

The game starts right after world war one, when a strange radio signal, known as "The Broadcast", kills almost anyone listening to it. The survires of the Broadcast are Frank Woodruff and Vladimir Farnsworth, they bout suffer from a "side effect", that maked them incredibly smart. Frank invents a prosthesis, to help crippled soldiers walk again. And  Vladimir invents "The Tube"(the TV), as a way to bring the Broadcast to everyone and conquer the world. And so these two start a war.

Using his legs prosthesis as a base, Frank builds the Trenche. A mobile tank-like mech, that is designed to battle the Tubes, of the evil genius.

So you are a guy that drives one such mech. The problem is that you  can't fight alone, so you must use turrets to support you in the fight. This is where similarities to Orcs Must Die come. But instead of traps, you have turrets and instead of spells, you have cannons.This sound like a solid concept. The question is "Is it done will?".


And that answer is a definitive "Yes", Double Fine has done it again. The guns feel like guns, due to the grate sounds and impact effects. The mechs feel like a more arcady version of MechWarrior. They are not as heavy as a mech, but the are not as agile as a human would be. So the developers have stuck a very delicate and enjoyable balance, between nimbler and slower combat.


As some of you may know, this game got a very late PC port and i have to say its pretty good. It has fully rebindable keys and a fair amount of graphics options. But i have to address the elephant in the room - Games For Windows Live. We all know the problems that come with GFWL, hell some people can't buy them legally. I don't know, It may not be a problem for you, but you have being warned. 


One more thing i'd like to menthone, is the graphics style. Iron Brigade mixes steampunk with the high tech. Your mech usually looks like "The Wild Wild West" meets world war one and the enemies give me vibes of Protoss. Overall its a very unusual and strange style.


To top it all of, Iron Brigade is a good concept, that is executed correctly and it runs like a well-oiled machine on PC.


I hope you liked my review of Iron Brigade (Trenched).
 If you did, comment, share with your friends, like me of facebook, or follow me of twitter.
My name is Nik and i hope you are having a nice day.
Rabu, 15 Agustus 2012

Darksiders II Review

Hi, my name is Nik and today i am reviewing:


Darksiders 2 is a spectacle fighter with RPG elements. 

The game starts, where the first one left of. War is imprisoned, by the Charred Council, for starting the Apocalypse early and distorting the balance. Death is convinced that his brother, War, is  innocent and he wants to free him. So Death makes a deal with the council, that they will free War, if he can resurrect the human race. Kind of ironic, don't you think. Death bringing life back.



Obviously, in Darksiders II you play Death, instead of War. The new character bring a lot of changes to the game. Death is much more agile and athletic then his brother. So the Angel of Death can do acrobatic tricks, like wall running. 

But the biggest chance has his weapon. Death uses two scythes, that can be joined in to a double edged scythe.


This makes the combat very unique, because some of the combos use the two faster and smaller weapons and some use the slower single scythe. The chance between the two is very fluid and barely noticeable. 

You also have  a secondary weapon, that can be an axe, hammer, or anything you find in the world. The secondary weapon adds new combos and more varied combat.

Compared to the first game, the combat is much faster, much smoother and much more enjoyable. 


And that is the entire theme of Darksiders II, its has improved. The puzzles are much better design, the acrobatic sections are more intuitive and the water sections are less disorientating. So you get less tings between you and fighting. However the game still has too many puzzles and stupid delays, that will annoy you.


The game also features some RPG-like elements. The vast open world is actually enjoyable to explore on horse back.   In it you will find a lot of good side quests, that have some context and purpose. 

And the best addition of all - the item system. You can change weapons and armor, if you find better once. Some items can even be upgraded, if you sacrifice the trash you find along the way. 

But the system is not without problems. Sometimes its hard to compare two items, because the stats are not explained well.


The one big problem that i have with the game, is that its two easy, nothing can kill you. Even the bosses cant kill you. And the worst part is that on max difficulty, its still too easy. 

To top it all of, Darksiders II is a grate game, with improved graphics, better level design and excellent gameplay.

I hope you liked my review of Darksiders II.
 If you did, comment, share with your friends, like me of facebook, or follow me of twitter.
My name is Nik and i hope you are having a nice day.
Senin, 13 Agustus 2012

DLC Quest Review

Hi, my name is Nik and today i am reviewing


DLC Quest is a 8-bit style platform and is probably the funniest game i have ever played.

The story of this 8-bit masterpiece is really simple. You are good guy, of course, and you have to save the princess from the bad guy. So if played Mario, you know the very plot. But what you don't know is the answer to the simple question "What happens when DLC goes too far?".



Lest start from the beginning. What is DLC? DLC stands for Downloadable content and its usually designed in such a way, to make you play and get nothing in return.

And so DLC Quest mocks the idea of DLC, in a very satirical and funny way. The game's philosophy is "if you need it, its DLC", and you have to buy it with coins (not real money). 


And when i say "if you need it", i mean you will need it. You have to buy DLC's like the "Movement Pack", that features next gen control, like jumping and moving left. You also have to buy things like music and animation. As you probably guessed, this game does not take its self seriously at all.


Things that the game does really well are satire, cynicism and exaggeration. The writing for the game, is just very funny, both in the DLC descriptions and in the conversation with the NPC. All of it is worth reading.

The game is kind of short, you can complete it in about 20-30 minutes, but feels just right. If the game was longer, the jokes would have gotten repetitive. If it was shorter, its not worth the price of $2.


To top it all of, DLC Quest is a great platformer, with a very nice 8-bit aesthetic and some of the funniest writing, ever put in a video game.

I hope you liked my review of DLC Quest.
 If you did, comment, share with your friends, like me of facebook, or follow me of twitter.
My name is Nik and i hope you are having a nice day.
Minggu, 12 Agustus 2012

Warhammer 40000 Space Marine Review

Hi, my name is Nik and today i am reviewing:


Warhammer 40000 Space Marine is a third-person, spectacle fighter set in the warhammer universe.

The story is set on Forge World Graia, a planet used for weapon production and most notably, the giant "Titan" class robots. The planet is attacked by millions of orcs, so a squad of three space marines is send to take back Manufactorum Ajakis - the Titan production facility.

You play as Captain Titus, the leader of the Ultramarine squad, and your mission is to slaughter thousands of orcs, for the glory of the empire.

Being a space marine, you have a vast array of powerful melee and range weapons. It doesn't matter, if you like getting up close and personal with the chainsword, or you like more the third-person shooting with the bolter, this game has you covered. The combat feels just fun, because of the grate sound assets, the good use of screen shake and the well timed slow motion kills. And i dont know, butchering millions of orcs, always makes me feel good.


As a spectacle fighter, Space Marine is very standard. The combos are not too difficult and the enemies die fairly easy. You can execute orcs, in order to regenerate health and also use fury mode, that makes you hit twice as hard for a short time. So its very similar to games like Devil May Cry and Darksiders.


One of the things i love is that "in the grim darkness of the far future there is only war", no  puzzles and no acrobatic tricks. Nothing to stand between you and the best part of the game - fighting (I hope that THQ uses that in darksiders 2).

I criticize a lot of spectacle fighters for this and Warhammer 40000 Space Marine, is no exception. Not enough combos. You can master the entire combo list in about an hour and that is just unacceptable, in my opinion. 


Some may ask me, is the game accurate to 40k lore. I'd love to tell you, but i have no idea. I'v never being interested in the 40k universe and everything i know about it can be written on a tee spoon. So you will have to find for your self. 

The game also has multiplayer, but its kind of boring, the best part comes when you get to level four. That is when you get to customize the look of you space and chaos marine and there is so much you can do to make the look awesome and unique.


To top it all of, Warhammer 40000 Space Marine is a wonderful spectacle fighter, filled with a lot of blood, gore, violence and a ton of orc slaying.

I hope you liked my review of Warhammer 40000 Space Marine.
 If you did, comment, share with your friends, like me of facebook, or follow me of twitter.
My name is Nik and i hope you are having a nice day.

Kamis, 09 Agustus 2012

Unmechanical Review

Hi, my name is Nik and today i am reviewing:


Unmechanical is a puzzle game, where you play one of the cutest robots.
The game starts with a cinematic, of you being kidnapped and released in some sort of test facility. I am sick of this cliche, its so overused in puzzle games. Anyway, once in the facility, you have to complete some basic physics based puzzles, that get harder and harder. The only tool you have, is the tractor beam, that can be used to pull and lift objects.  



One thing that the game has, is variety. You have weight puzzles, sequence puzzle and some that just require some common sense. What makes them interesting, is the setting of the game. From the adorable robot, to the beautiful backgrounds. From the sound design, to the ambient music. The game just has, so much character its unbelievable.It reminds me of  Machinarium and that is never a bad thing.


One of the really grate things about the game, is the lack of UI. The environment, just telegraphs all that you need to know about the puzzles. But, sometimes it can be confusing and you will not know what is background and what is foreground. Another slightly annoying thing, is the with of you're tractor beam, its not wide enough and you have to be very precise, in order to lift something. 



To top it all of, Unmechanical is a grate little game, that can be quite relaxing any fan of puzzles can enjoy with ease.

I hope you liked my review of Unmechanical.
 If you did, comment, share with your friends, like me of facebook, or follow me of twitter.
My name is Nik and i hope you are having a nice day.

Selasa, 07 Agustus 2012

Spec Ops: The Line Review

Hi, my name is Nik and today i am reviewing:


Spec Ops: The Line is a very generic third-person shooter, with some unusual storytelling techniques.
The game starts, right after the biggest sand storm, that ever hit Dubai. The 33rd where send in, to investigate the situation, but they never came back. That is where you come in, as Captain Walker, the commander of a three man Delta force group. At first you're mission is reconnaissance, then it turns to find and rescue. And then it goes FUBAR and no one knows, what the hell is going on. 




But what is really interesting and unique, is the way the story is presented. Spec Ops tries to show the horrors of war, in a realistic and believable fashion and it does a pretty good job. For example, if you listen you're enemies talking before combat. You'll realize that they are just like you - soldiers following orders. Another example is the chatter, that you have with your squadmates, Adams and Lugo, and the reflection that the current situation is leaving on them. 
I can sit here and give you examples, but its best just to experience it. At then end of the day, that is good story telling and its refreshing to see in a third-person shooter. 


Speaking of the part, this gameplay is paynefully standard. Its just cover based shooter, like gears of war, or army of two. There is one interesting mechanic - the storms. When they appear, you're vision is limited, you can't order you squad and you have difficulties when aiming. 


One of the better things, is the level design. The ruined five star hotels, converted to refugee camps, really enhance the feeling of destruction, man made, or otherwise.
The graphics also look really good. The lighting and particle effect are of high quality, the textures are really high resolution and the game looks good in general. 


To top it all of, Spec Ops: The Line is a third-person shooter, with interesting storytelling techniques and good graphics, bout of them add up to the overall feeling of the game. Alas the gameplay lets it down a bit, because its just too normal, too generic.

 I hope you liked my review of Spec Ops: The Line.
 If you did, comment, share with your friends, like me of facebook, follow me of twitter.
My name is Nik and i hope you are having a nice day.